top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCassie Oliver

You’ve got a friend in me. (Intentional Community)

It has been 2 weeks exactly since I have moved into the ‘Big Green House’ here in New Orleans. While our arrival into NOLA was paused by Hurricane Ida, we have come to learn more about New Orleans in a very full and quick weeklong orientation. We have also completed our first week of work. For the year my placement is at YMCA YES! (YMCA Educational Services) but more on that in another blog post. If you would like more information: https://www.ymcaneworleans.org/locations/ymca-educational-services-yes/ymca-educational-services-yes/


“When the road looks rough ahead

And you're miles and miles

From your nice warm bed

You just remember what your old pal said

Boy, you've got a friend in me”


As I arrived to the house here in NOLA, Google Maps greeted me with a calm, ‘Welcome Home’ as I had saved the address in my phone under Home before I arrived. I was also the last one to arrive to the house, so I was greeted by my housemates who were eagerly waiting my arrival. They were quick to help unload my car. There were COVID Tests to be had, and introductions to be made. Orientation included a rain-soaked French Quarter test, a conversation over beignets, cooking a meal for Okra Abbey (a community garden), we sorted boxes for a foodbank, and ended the week with a service project at Lakeview Presbyterian where we scrubbed water damage off of Bibles and Hymnals.


One of the core tenets in the YAV program is Intentional Christian Community. According to the PCUSA YAV Website, Intentional Christian Community means that you will explore what it means to be a Christian community with one another and your neighbor. Y’all will reflect together on your service and explore your relationship with God, the church, and your ministry in a broken world.


"You got troubles, I've got 'em too

There isn't anything I wouldn't do for you

We stick together and see it through

'Cause you've got a friend in me

You've got a friend in me”


As I came into the YAV year, I really had a fear of this core tenet. I have had negative experiences of living in community with others, so those fears came riding along with me as I came to New Orleans. So far, those fears have been squashed. I know that we are still in the ‘honeymoon’ phase of living together, but we have become a family. I feel like I can be myself around the others in the house and we accept each of us for who we are. This community is going to be with me through the highs, lows and buffaloes this year and I cannot wait to continue to make memories this year.


26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page