top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCassie Oliver

My Bus Buddies (Multicultural Mission)


( The names in this blog post have been changed to protect the identity of those innocent)


When I came to New Orleans, I was nervous to ride the city bus system called the RTA. As a child I never rode the city bus. When we came to NOLA, one of our orientation activities was to ride the bus route that would get us to our job placement. To save some money, I was able to get a 31 day Jazzy Pass for work. A normal one way ride on the bus is $1.25 with another 25 cents to transfer onto another bus. For a pass that lasts 24 hours, it is $3.00. The Monthly jazzy pass is extremely helpful for someone like me that rides daily. The bus I take is Bus 57, Franklin Ave. route. There have been some days that the bus runs late and others where it just doesn’t show up. When that happens, I can call my coworkers who drive by my house on their way in or I get a ride from a housemate. As I have ridden the bus now for more than 3 months, I have created some fun relationships with some riders and the drivers. I have given them the affectionate name of my Bus Buddies. They are all lifelong New Orleans residents who have grown up in different parts of town but now they all ride the same bus line as me. Their names are Charm, Tina, Thurma, and Bus driver, Shorty. Charm and I actually both work in the library, she works downstairs sorting and shelving the library books while I work in the Adult Learning Center. Tina and Thurma both work at other places in the city (City Hall and Children’s Hospital) and I only see them on the ride home from work. Charm and I ride at the same time in the morning but I do not see her in the afternoon. These ladies and gent have allowed me to learn more about New Orleans and hear the stories of this city from those that have lived here their whole lives. Some days we may talk about the potholes and the horrible conditions of the roads. Other days, we are talking about their favorite restaurants to get a meal. One day, Thurma and I were conversing about Charity Hospital, which was severely damaged in Katrina and still stands as an eyesore to this day. During this conversation, Thurma opened up about her experience with Katrina and how bad it really was for the residents of the Crescent City.

I have had some really interesting things that have happened on the bus, but my buddies have reassured me and sometimes protected me from the incidents. The normal quote from them is, “This is not the New Orleans I know and love.” I find this saying a lament for all the events that have happened in the last two years. From the pandemic hitting the city hard with event closures and many restaurants closing down, this city is feeling the strain that many others are as well. I have been keeping a small journal about these events on the bus and maybe one day I will turn it into a book or a chapter of my memoir.

Riding the bus has been a sign of the privilege that I carry with me on a daily basis. As a transplant, white, young woman, I find that I do not have to rely on the bus like so many here in the city do. Some of the riders I ride with take 3-4 buses a day just to get to work. Others I have helped find housing, they want the apartments or house that is closest to a certain bus stop. If one bus is running behind, it makes them miss their connection. I am lucky in the idea that if I do not feel like taking the bus or I need to get home faster I will be able to get a ride from a coworker or a housemate. I also have my car here at the house but I do not drive it into work as the parking lots near my placement cost around 15$ a day.

I have grown to love riding the bus, I am able to read a book or play games on my phone while someone else is focused on the roads ahead. The bus also allows me to just look out the windows and see the houses, businesses and people that call New Orleans home.


Merry Christmas from the NOLA YAVs.



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page